Monday Morning Mary: Mercy

Mary 2 - Mariandale

Mercy

Mercy comes to me as a blanket
the color of pearls
and ferns
soft
with enough stretch
to cover the awkward angles of
misguided thought

delivered with uncanny timing
not mine
by four angels
who let the blanket
drift down like snow
upon my naked head

their opal wings
say something
I can almost hear

under this mercy
which I do not deserve,
because that is the point
of mercy,
I wonder, what have I learned,
and how am I to share
the pearls
 

 

Mary - Mariandale

Sunset on the Hudson River.

DSC_1914

 

DSC_1933

Photos in this post were taken on the grounds of Mariandale Retreat and Conference Center, New York.

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Mary: Mercy

  1. What a beautiful poem, Cheryl. I have not used this email in a while and I just saw your post. You are in our morning daily prayers. I can not believe how long it has been since we have visited with you all. We are always on Long Beach Island in July, is there any chance you can visit? Love, Eileen

Leave a Reply

