12 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 9, Angels

My Angel

12 Things I Am Grateful For This Year
Day 9:  Angels


Angels

It is difficult to believe
in angels
but I am learning

I have often said
of my closest calls
that there was nothing
between me and death
but an angel

then I would return
to my quiet illusion
of self-sufficiency

I imagine there are thousands
of rescues that were performed
for me
and I thanked no one
because I did not even feel it
I just got to where I was going

One day I needed help
and I simply asked
do I have a Guardian One
really, or is that just in a museum
painting

I do

an angel
radiant, shapeshifting,
strong enough to hoist a steel bridge,
soft enough to sing with snow,
light enough to recline
on a flower petal,
waiting
for my next call
close or otherwise

~~~

Mother Mary

 

Leave a Reply

