Instead of a Resolution, One Little Word

gingerbread baby

 

What do you do with this one little word? You live with it. You invite it into you life. You let it speak to you. You might even follow where it leads. There are so many possibilities.”  ~ Ali Edwards

How are things going with your New Year’s Resolutions? I forgot I even had one until I read the draft of this post, which I’ve been quite lazy about putting together.

On December 31, my big idea for a resolution was to limit my purchase of self-help-junkie books to one for the whole year. This really stressed me out. I mean, how would I pick just one? And when in the 12 months should I pick it? It seemed that zero would be easier than one. And I didn’t want to do zero books. See why I forgot about the whole thing?

Meanwhile, in early December, I had come across Ali Edwards “One Little Word 2014” workshop. The idea instantly intrigued me. The premise of the workshop is to choose one word for yourself to embrace for the whole year.  It involves thought, reflection, and a few mini-projects. Nothing too crazy. Ali helps you capture all your musings and clippings in a notebook or scrapbook. It can be simple or elaborate, and you don’t need to be an artist.

Sounded great. But I let the December days darken without committing. I was facing the just-one-book dilemma. I wanted to do “One Little Word,” but how would the perfectionist in me settle on one word? I decided not to do the workshop. But then I couldn’t stop myself from doodling words on paper in and my head.

I ended up with a mindmap of some promising words. Grace, risk, change, et al. All fine and noble. But there was another one, and it seemed, well, dumb. It was so simple a first-grader could have picked it. I wrestled with the first-grader to get a more “worthy” word. Guess who won. The 6-year-old, because she had the best answer to “What do I really want more of in my life?”

F-U-N.

Maybe you’ll join me and sign up? It’s not too late.  Just click here. Even if you don’t sign up for the workshop, maybe you’ll consider adopting one single word for yourself, a mantra you can use to bless yourself throughout the year.

AE_OneLittleWord2014Promo2

(P.S. I don’t get anything for promoting the workshop. I’m just sharing my enthusiasm.)

2 thoughts on “Instead of a Resolution, One Little Word

  1. Cheryl, I like your word: fun! I’ve picked “hope” because it kept popping up in my readings during these last few months. Perhaps I can graduate into “fun” next year? Hope is helping me to see past obstacles and believe the impossible is possible.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

