I Want This to Be My Best Year

A poem for NaPoWriMo, written today.

 

I Want This to Be My Best Year

This afternoon I decided
I want this to be
my best year ever

Don’t ask if I mean 2013
or starting now, in April
when the spring leaves are still
small green origami

I want this to be my best year ever
come what may, and go what may,
because we all know loss arrives daily
as a purple sunset, broken glass, stillness

Maybe it’s the sky today, endless and blue
that makes me feel safe and confident
or that pair of pale doves
perched above me, basking as I am,
or the small tickle of sound in the brush

In this vast gentleness, I can’t help but say,
may this be my best year ever,
one that flows directly through my heart,
one in which I notice every possible thing,
a year of birdsong and faces,
music and water,
of angels, saints, and touch

 

 

Trees in Spring

napo2013button1

A poem a day for April

7 thoughts on “I Want This to Be My Best Year

  1. Great images, Cheryl! the spring leaves are still small green origami, the small tickle of sound in the brush, this vast gentleness. I genuinely hope for you that his is your best year, ever.

  2. absolutely beautiful, rich imagery and yes, I have that EXACT feeling in my heart at times!! This is my favorite poem yet!

Leave a Reply

