Be Gentle Now

Image

In like a lion, out like a lamb. March unfolds with great contradiction, an erratic, alternating flow of whipping winds and warming sun that eventually yields to the surprising gentleness of spring. March offers us a model for gradually letting go of what is harsh inside us and yielding to a self-embrace of gentleness.

In March, I will tell myself: Be gentle, now.
When I make a mistake, or have a bad day,
I will say: Be gentle, now.
When I am unkind, or forget my divine heart,
I will say: Be gentle, now.
When I stare at the rain, or sit on a warm, sunny stone,
I will say: Be gentle now.
No matter what, and whenever I can, I will say:
Be gentle, now, dear one. You are loved.

2 thoughts on “Be Gentle Now

  1. Oh, Cheryl, that’s such a wonderful thought– and timely for me, too. I’m printing it out, to have as a quiet reminder to me to be gentle with myself and rest in God’s love.

Leave a Reply

